Competition for Young scientists

Excellent contributions to this year's at the Young Researchers Symposium (YRS 2018)

Press Release / June 22, 2018

This year's Young Researchers Symposium (YRS 2018) took place at the Fraunhofer Center on June 22. The symposium is organized every two years by the Nachwuchsring of the TU Kaiserslautern and the High Performance Center Simulation and Software Based Innovation.

© iStockphoto

For the fourth time since 2011, the Young Researchers Symposium (YRS 2018) took place in Kaiserslautern on 22 June. The scientific conference was organized by the TU-Nachwuchsring of the TU Kaiserslautern (TUK) and the High Performance Center Simulation and Software Based Innovation. It was held under the patronage of Prof. Dr. Arnd Poetzsch-Heffter (Vice President for Research and Technology at the TUK) and Dr. Konrad Steiner (Managing Director of the Performance Center).

Full range of research at the location

In 15 lectures and 20 poster contributions, the participants presented the entire spectrum of research at the location in a very vivid way. The consistently very successful contributions were vividly discussed by all participants, which was a particular challenge for all participants, lecturers and listeners in the strongly interdisciplinary environment. Typically, research is usually more likely to be examined by experts in their own scientific field.

Prerequisite for participation: Evaluated abstract

The prerequisite for participation in the YRS 2018 was the submission of a scientific abstract, which was evaluated in advance by a jury consisting of young scientists from the TU Kaiserslautern and scientists from the Fraunhofer Institutes. Of the 64 entries submitted by doctoral candidates from the TU Kaiserslautern, the Fraunhofer Institutes IESE and ITWM, the Institute for Composite Materials (IVW) and the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI), 35 young scientists finally had the opportunity to present their research work to the public at the conference center of the Fraunhofer Center.

Challenge: Presenting in an entertaining and vivid way

A special challenge was not only to present their own project in an interesting and entertaining way, but also to present it vividly - because the majority of the audience and the jury did not belong to their own specialist area, but consisted of scientists from the various departments of the TUK as well as the Fraunhofer Institutes and the IVW. Therefore, in addition to criteria such as lecture style and foil design, the ability to clearly explain one's own research topic to an audience outside the field was also evaluated. At the end of the event, the three best lectures and posters were awarded a total of €6,000 in prize money. 

The waiting time until the announcement of the winners offered the participants the opportunity to network during the chill-out with finger food and background music by the jazz band Night & Day.





Beste Lectures

1st place: Prince Saforo Amponsah

TU Kaiserslautern (Departement Biology) »Redox regulation of cellular time-keeping: a novel role for peroxiredoxins and hydrogen peroxide«


2nd place: Petra Gospodnetic and Dennis Mosbach 

Fraunhofer ITWM (Department Image Processing): »Model Based Inspection Planning for Complex Surfaces«


3rd place: Kira Kraft und Tobias Dietz 

TU Kaiserslautern (Department Electrical and Computer Engineering and Department Mathematics): »Improved Channel Coding with Manipulated Matrices«


Best Poster

1st place: Matthias Koch 

Fraunhofer IESE (Department User Experience & Requirements Engineering): »Decision Support for Smart Ecosystem Evolution«


2nd place: Claudia Seck

TU Kaiserslautern (Department Civil Engineering): »Development of a new self-sealing click-connection-system to transmit shear and normal forces«


3rd place: Dominic Kris Weibel 

TU Kaiserslautern (Department Mechanical and Process Engineering): »Faster to the Goal: Ultrasonic Fatigue of Polymer Composites«


Gruppenbild Young Researchers Symposium
© TU Kaiserslautern/Thomas Koziel
Mark Hlawitschka (Orga-Team YRS 2018), Alexandra Pokhlestova (Orga-Team YRS 2018), Tobias Dietz und Kira Kraft (3rd prize, Best Talk), Matthias Koch (1st prize, Best Poster), Claudia Seck (2nd prize, Best Talk), Dominic Kris Weibel (3rd prize, Best Poster), Prince Saforo Amponsah (1st prize, Best Talk), Petra Gospodnetic and Dennis Mosbach (2nd prize, Best Talk), Konrad Steiner (Patron YRS 2018) Inga Nissen (Orga-Team YRS 2018), Sylvia Gerwalin (Orga-Team YRS 2018). (from left to right)