The cooperation in the High Performance Center is organized by different committees:


The council is responsible for the strategic leadership of the High Performance Center.

It is composed of:

  • the executive leaders of the participating Fraunhofer Institutes
  • the vice president of the research department of the RPTU Kaiserslautern-Landau
  • the president of the University of Applied Sciences Kaiserslauter
  • the directors of the research institutes  IVW and DFKI-KL

The speaker of the council is elected by the council for a term of two years. He represents the High Performance Center and comes from the Fraunhofer Institutes. His deputy usually comes from the other institutions.

Steering Committees

A steering committee coordinates the projects and activities within the Application Centers and R&D labs. The area »Marketing and Transfer« is coordinated by a steering committee as well.

The committees consist of the representatives of the participating institutes, the university’s departments and the participating companies. Amongst them, a chairman and his deputy are elected.

Executive Board

The Executive Board is responsible for the operative plans of the High Performance Center and consists of

  • the chairmen of the steering committee
  • other representatives of the participating compani

The members of the Executive Board elect the managing director and his deputy amongst themselves.

Advisory Board

The Advisory Borad advises the Steering Board. The Board is currently composed of members: 

  • Steffen Blaga (IHK - Pfalz)
  • Dr. Christoph Großmann (BASF SE)
  • Dr.-Ing. Udo Scheff (John Deere GmbH & Co. KG)
  • Dr. Markus Steffens (INTELLIGHT - Intelligent Lightweight Solutions)
  • Andreas Wiegmann, PhD (Math2Market)
  • Dr. Andreas Gerhardt (Ministry of Science and Health of the State of Rhineland-Palatinate)
Dieter Prätzel-Wolters

Contact Press / Media

Prof. Dr. Dieter Prätzel-Wolters

Speaker of the Council

Fraunhofer-Institut für Techno- und Wirtschaftsmathematik ITWM
Fraunhofer-Platz 1
67663 Kaiserslautern

Phone +49 631 31600-1001

Fax +49 631 31600-1099

Werner Thiel

Contact Press / Media

Prof. Dr. Werner Thiel

Deputy Speaker of the Council

Rheinland-Pfälzische Technische Universität Kaiserslautern-Landau
Gottlieb-Daimler-Straße (Gebäude 54/677)
67663 Kaiserslautern, Deutschland

Phone +49 631 205-2752

Fax +49 631 205-4676

Konrad Steiner

Contact Press / Media

Dr. Konrad Steiner

Managing Director/ Speaker of the Executive Board

Fraunhofer-Institut für Techno- und Wirtschaftsmathematik ITWM
Fraunhofer-Platz 1
67663 Kaiserslautern

Phone +49 631 31600-4342

Fax +49 631 31600-5342

Zai Müller-Zhang

Contact Press / Media

Zai Müller-Zhang

Deputy Managing Director/ Deputy Speaker of the Executive Board

Fraunhofer Institute for Experimental Software Engineering IESE
Fraunhofer-Platz 1
67633 Kaiserslautern 

Phone  +496316800-2214

Organizational Chart

Organigramm 02/2024 EN
© Leistungszentrum
Organigramm 02/2024 EN